View Single Post

Old 03-20-2013, 02:30 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
The decks are glued in position, and so is the rear wall. Stern is glued on. Forming the stern planking to fit the ship was not that easy after all, the glue gets a grip pretty quick and you have to dry-fit everything carefully before you apply the glue. In the end, I was satisfied how it turned out although things can always be done better. When looking at other builds here on this forum I always have to remember myself that I am not that proficient, and that this is my first build. You can't just mimmick 10 years of cardboard building experience that I simply don't have. However, allowing myself some slack, nevertheless I find much pleasure in the build itself and building the kit is a relaxing experience, you can completely set your mind to something else as the usual daily cr@p you need to deal with.

As far as the kit goes, I have several "rookie remarks" that thus could be completely irrelevant but here it goes nevertheless. Hopefully, someone with some building experience can say something about that as well:

I think the manufacturer could have made a better job in his instructions. I have experienced things like "join A + B" where the manufacturer seemed to find it obvious where A should go on B, but I didn't... no more instructions available. The written instructions are in more languages, but I would rather have settled for BETTER written instructions in just one language. Furthermore, the building instructions include only a few sketches on difficult areas. I think the instructions should have had many more of those sketches.