PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Alternate Dimensions

Old 06-23-2009, 11:01 PM

Total Downloaded: 140.78 MB
Super-detailed and lit Leopard-class Dropship

I'm a crazy modeler. I start projects like a 50" Imperial Star Destroyer, a 1:2256 Kuat Drive Yards, a "Starfleet Museum" of over 1,000 ship designs.

So I think this is actually a step *backwards* for me. :D

Let me start off with what I'm building. This is the Leopard-class which Kjev graciously uploaded, which I'm super-detailing.

Yes, those are lighting supplies:

I'm not only lighting the bridge and putting spot-lights over each hatchway, but I'm making the anti-collision lights blink and the engines will have 'candle-light effect' circuit boards installed, which will have an on/off switch so I can use it as gaming terrain (now that I've got a copy of Battletech).

First I constructed a 1/4 scale model of the final kit to get a feel of what tough points there are in the construction, and so I can make the mistakes on a small scale 'throwaway' model.

You can see I missed the little note that said which engine went to which side.

The first thing I constructed for this ship is the engines. I should probably mention now that I printed two copies so I can have spares and make laminated parts.

I cut out one of the engine outlets and then used it to make marks on a piece of opaque cardboard in order to make a light box. I then took the engine outlet and plied and pulled at it so I could strip away some of the layered paper (this works with any type of paper). This way I can make a blue filter to put over the bright white 3mm LEDs.

Then I glued the blue filter over the aperture, white side out so I could airbrush a very light coat of gray over it later. I then cut out a 1 cm strip of the cardboard and scored it to fit over the light box.

I then superglued a 3mm white LED into the opening on the narrow end of the cone.