PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Architectural Models

Old 08-02-2017, 03:40 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Martin Luther’s church in Wittenberg, Germany

As a designer, I usually don't build other's models, as my own test builds take too much time. For this one, I am doing an exception as it was created by the guy who taught me everything about papermodelling - my father.

image: Wikipedia

On the subject: The Stadtkirche (Town church) Wittenberg is the church were Martin Luther was the Pastor during the early days of the reformation. So it could be said that it was actually his church.
It should not be confused with the Schlosskirche, (All saints church or castle church) the door of which was allegedly where Luther posted his 95 theses, an event which is 500 years ago this year.
The church is also interesting architecturally as it is a typical example of many similar churches to be found in East Gerrmany.

On the model: The model was created by Dieter Stahl and is currently not available as a download. I am happy to forward any requests for the model files send to me through PM. The model depicts the church as it appears today, with fresh rendering on the towers.
The scale is approximately 1/240 and the model is generally kept simple to allow it being build by beginners (esp. pupils/high school kids). It is mostly hand-drawn with textures that have been extracted from photos.
There are 9 A4-pages:

Please note that the version I am building is a pre-release version, which still contains a number of quirks, that have been removed on the final version. I had the prints lying around and didn't have the heart to let them go to waste.
Google Adsense
Old 08-02-2017, 03:47 AM

1. buttresses

First up are some buttresses for the main nave, some of whom are stepped and some of whom are not. The stepped ones consist of two parts.

Old 08-02-2017, 04:05 AM

Total Downloaded: 103.2 KB
PM sent. This looks like an interesting subject.