PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Architectural Models

Old 05-15-2022, 09:40 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Farm Crest Bakeries, Columbus, OH - 1/450 scale

This is my first build, a papercraft restoration of the endangered Farm Crest Bakeries factory in Columbus, originally completed in 1949. There aren't a lot of color images of the original so I decided to base the colors on some of the older remnant layers visible on the building.

This was actually my second 3D model design, but the first that actually unfolded in a satisfactory way. I'm using Pepakura for the unfold, and the texturing was done in Paint.

Overall I'm pretty happy with this as a first step. Now I need to pick out a simpler second building and do a head-to-head test of raster versus vector graphics for texture work. In either case, I'm definitely using something with proper layer support next time. So much rework.

Google Adsense
Old 05-16-2022, 06:45 AM

Total Downloaded: 1.24 GB
Almost smell the bread and rolls, Nice
Enjoy
Miles
Old 05-16-2022, 07:00 AM

Would you believe that it gets even better than that? This was exclusively a cookie bakery. I can't imagine how great that neighborhood must have been, once.
Old 05-16-2022, 08:19 AM

Total Downloaded: 582.17 MB
For a little over a year, I had to do monthly trips to the Folgers Coffee neighborhood in northern downtown Kansas City. That was wonderful
Old 05-16-2022, 09:07 AM

Total Downloaded: 424.90 MB
Hard to believe this is your first build!

You have certainly captured the look of that building, and the construction is clean and precise.

Don
Google Adsense
Old 05-16-2022, 02:19 PM

Total Downloaded: 99.03 MB
Nice building. What made you choose it as a subject?
Old 05-16-2022, 03:32 PM