PDA

View Full Version : Nakajima KI-84 Hayate/Halinski/1:33

g force
03-17-2009, 12:30 PM
I have started construction on the Japanese Nakajima Ki-84 Hayate fighter, and so far it is proving to be a very enjoyable build. As with all Halinski kits, the print quality and detail is superb. This one in particular has some very nice, subtle weathering.

redhorse
03-17-2009, 12:32 PM
A Halinski build! This will be fun to see, thanks for starting a build thread!

member_3
03-17-2009, 12:43 PM
Yes, the coloring on that one is superb. This is in my (uncut) collection just because it is so darned pretty. Maybe this thread will provide some motivation for me.

g force
03-17-2009, 12:47 PM
Thanks for your interest. It hope it will be fun to see, as long as I don't make a mess of things along the way - I'm relatively new to the hobby. Stay tuned...

g force
03-17-2009, 12:57 PM
So, here goes...
I started the build with the construction of the cockpit section of the plane's fuselage - as seems to be the recommendation in all Halinski kits. Why not get into some of the finest details right at the start! The kit alone is excellent in every way, but I wanted to add a higher level of detail and realism to the cockpit, so I decided to use some Eduard photo-etch parts for the seat/seatbelts and instrument panel - as an experiment. Although the Eduard parts are 1:32 scale, they seem to work perfectly in this 1:33 scale model. So far, the fit of all parts is very good - and I like the tab and slot method for the frames in this kit.

GreMir
03-17-2009, 01:15 PM
BANZAI!!!!
I get a little excited every time I see one of Japanese planes being built :D
This one is on my to-do list, but I want to go through all the older kits first. Otherwise might not get to them at all if I become spoiled with those perfect ones :rolleyes:

ccoyle
03-17-2009, 02:47 PM
I came within a gnat's whisker of purchasing this kit. It'll be fun to watch this come together.

Regards,

Lex
03-17-2009, 02:59 PM