PDA

View Full Version : 1/250 scale Zeppelin beta builder(s) wanted...

Kugelfang
10-18-2016, 01:29 PM
Hello all,

This is my first design effort. It's a 1/250 scale airship, the LZ-17 Sachsen. At this scale it's almost 25 inches long so it is fairly big. I don't think it's a difficult build, though. It was mostly a learning project for me but I hope it produced something that other modelers will enjoy.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9jtsIgx34oidHNLN1dwMTFPTmc/view?usp=sharing

I'm an inexperienced builder so I'd really appreciate feed back as to what you liked, what you did not like and what would make the design more enjoyable. There's no rush. Though I am eager to incorporate feedback and wrap it up and go on to another design. I'd particularly like feedback on the fit of the parts. My biggest concern is that the internal formers don't allow enough play for the thickness of paper used for the envelope covering. My intention is to use 67# card when I get around to building it. Print area is 7x10 inches so I think it should work for US Letter or A4 size sheets.

Thanks,

--jeff

Rubenandres77
10-18-2016, 01:52 PM
I don't have much time, so I guess I won't be able to help you in the test build.

But let me tell you that the artwork looks really wonderful, the subtle texture of the fabric is very nice.

The triangular internal support looks like a great idea to hold the structure. I'm sure it will make for a sturdy model.

The graphic instructions are wonderful, and seem easy to follow. I wish more designers would make instructions like those.

Just a couple of notes:

I notice that the size of the pages is 7X10 inches (about 17.7 X 25 cm).
I can guess that it is because you wish to avoid the problem of Letter vs A4 size? If that's the intention, an additional note on how to print correctly would be welcome to avoid confusion, as many people use "fit to page/actual size/etc" as their defaults, and that can alter your desired print size affecting the scale.