PDA

View Full Version : Custom punch sets, Need your opinions

jmcdermott
09-26-2009, 06:31 PM
I am fortunate enough to have the tools to make any size punch/die as I need it, but many do not.

Years ago I bought a Waldron set and it didn't take long to break the smallest punches after heavy use. (I built models for a living, so I am not putting down the product)

I also found that several of the hole sizes were never used.

So, here is the idea I currently have:

I can make custom sets based on the sizes that the buyer requested. If you wanted 4 holes, that is what you can order.

Pricing would be $15 for the first size and $5 for each size after that.

ie, a 1/32, 3/64, 1/16, 5/64 set would be $30

A 15 punch set of 1/32, 3/64, 1/16, 5/64, 3/32, 7/64, 1/8, 9/64, 5/32, 11/64, 3/16, 13/64, 7/32, 15/64, and 1/4 would be $85.

Please let me know what you think!

All the best,
Jason

rickstef
09-26-2009, 07:04 PM
one small niggle i can think of, you might want to make a metric set, seeing that most of the models coming from Europe are set up with metric measurements

B-Manic
09-26-2009, 07:24 PM
one small niggle i can think of, you might want to make a metric set, seeing that most of the models coming from Europe are set up with metric measurements

I agree metric, would be best for my needs.

like this one from Micro-Mark, its $40 MICRO PUNCH SET (http://www.micromark.com/MICRO-PUNCH-SET,8603.html)
I'd rather buy one from you than some megastore though.

Wyvern
09-26-2009, 08:29 PM
I like the idea of paying for just what you need; I think it would be a successful product.

Wyvern

Amazyah
09-26-2009, 10:48 PM
I too would purchase it.
I have been drooling over the Micro-Mark set for a while but the only thing stopping me from purchasing it is the sizes available.
I think you would do a great service here.
I too would prefer a mm set as well.
Most of the models I have that I want to build are European.
Sounds like a really great idea.
I say, "Go for it!"

Russell