PDA

View Full Version : Schloss Neuschwanstein, Schreiber

rlwhitt
10-25-2007, 11:47 AM
My latest build was intended to be a break from the more difficult stuff I've worked on of late. I was aiming for a fun, fast (for me) build. This is going to be given to one of my daughter's former teachers so the goal was not to get things as precise as I would normally try to do, and as a result some things were done a bit rough. With an audience of 6th graders, highest quality was not the top priority. This teacher takes tour groups to Europe every year. We've been with her once and will be going again this spring, so this model was also meant to stoke a little interest among my kids. They might actually be a little more interested when they see the real thing! I've never done an architecture model before, and have certainly found it to be a different exterience. But it WAS fun, so mission accomplished!

This model is from Schreiber-Bogen, and I gather it has been in print for quite a while. It is 1:250 scale, and produces a model roughly 23" long, 8" wide and 12" high (59cm x 20cm x 30cm). It has around 370 parts, if you use them all. It's a bit pricey @ $29.95 or so, but it's a very nice kit. It actually comes with the cardboard needed to laminate the 5 sheets of parts that need to be 1mm thick. The remaining colored parts come on 11 A3 sheets.