PDA

View Full Version : Halinski 1:25 Bergepanther

Ron0909
11-27-2009, 10:00 PM
Hi guys,

I've hit modeler's block and for the longest time couldn't figure out why until now. I need to build a tank! Seriously...I've been building aircraft forever and the last 3 I've attacked haven't been completed (2 have their landing gear left to do and the last proved to be unbuildable).
I have a couple models I've been sitting on for a few years that were a gift from a friend that used to have a shop overseas a few years back. Unfortunately the one I'm thinking of attacking is lacking the english instructions. Does anyone have the english instructions for Halinski's SdKfz 179 Bergepanther? The other question, probably equally as important, what kind of glue do you all recommend for gluing armor frames? I've cut out all of the required 1mm stuff (what I've decypered so far :)). I'm almost positive I need to skin the internals of the frames prior to assembly as there *is* a full interior and am wondering what works best for adhereing skins? I have the standard PVA (thickened through age and some new stuff), UHU clear all purpose 'twist and glue', UHU all purpose, small tube, solvent free black cap and some glue sticks.

Thanks a million! If this gets on it's treads, I might force you guys into watching (or suffering through) a armor newbie build :)
Ron

Jim Nunn
11-27-2009, 10:51 PM
I think I have the English instructions If I do I will send then via a privet message.

To glue the skins I just use good old Aleene’s brown bottle. For the interior skins I would build up the frame and then glue the skins on. I just tack the skin on at the edges and a couple of dots of glue in the center. Putting a film of glue on the whole skin and then trying to get it aligned is a real B***h sometimes. Also you may need to trim the skin to fit. I also would test fit the outer skin to make sure the hull is correct.