PDA

View Full Version : Whoohoo

rickstef
12-04-2007, 11:45 AM
Ok, so I am channeling Homer.

But I have reason to do so.

As some of you know, I am a Cartographer by trade, making maps and working with spatial data.

Well, one of the more prestigious pieces of paper one in my field can get is a certification for GIS-P Geographic Information Systems Professional.

All I had to do is fill out the application, send in some money, and wait til they approved or denied me, well they approved me.

Putting in the hours at the City finally paid off for something.

It might not mean alot to most of you, but to those who know me best, this is something I have wanted for sometime.

Thanks for letting me pound my chest for a bit.

Rick

John Bowden
12-04-2007, 12:09 PM
Congratulations Rick!

Nothing smells better then success...........well except Napalm in the morning, it smell like victory!

P.S.

Chanelling Homer in this situation is OK, now you deserve some Hmmmmmmm Choc-leett!

Paperbeam
12-04-2007, 12:18 PM
That's great news Rick!:D

So what exactly does an exalted GIS-P Geographic Information Systems Professional do?

Is that something to do with GPS and satellites or what?

Way to go!

Terry

Ping-Pong Ball Cannon and N/Z scale Old West paper models (free samples) at: http://www.paperbeam.com

rickstef
12-04-2007, 12:22 PM
Terry,

Those are sources of data for me

I make maps, Cartography if you will.

what I do? not a whole lot, make maps, make more maps, and make even more maps.

Rick

Gharbad
12-04-2007, 12:42 PM
I always liked maps :D

Congrats!

member_3
12-04-2007, 01:14 PM
Bravo Zulu! Maps are an old love of mine (throw away the National Geographic magazine but keep the maps - no, I kept the magazines too!) Cartography seems to be part science, part art and a little bit of magic to me. Well done!

Paperbeam
12-04-2007, 02:14 PM
Rick:

Well, yeah, I do know what Cartography is!:rolleyes:

Specifically, this is closer to the answer I was seeking: