PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > The Armory

Old 06-05-2012, 12:20 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Sturmgeschutz IV 1:25

Hiya!

Because my current project is not yet finished - as the matter of fact is quite far from it - and I thought it would be good to show something after checking in, I decided to put my build here, into The Armory.

It is a model of German self propelled, assault gun from WW2, later version of famous STUG III, based upon Pzkpfw IV ausf H chassis. Scale is 1:25, and manufacturer is Modelik.

The way I put my models together is rather straightforward, I do models in standard colors and with some (and every time a bit more) additional works carried out where applicable. By saying some, I mean little details here or there, as being a beginning modeler I don't have all the skills yet Nevertheless I try and use different approaches and techniques so I hope with some help from more experienced modelers I should get to this place called Improvement:]

Below you can see my works on Stug IV. Hull, superstructure, engine, it's compartment and other interior (but not detailed at all) sections are done. The overall plan was to make all hatches workable, make as much of the interior as possible (engine mostly, as other sections available "under" the hatches are with no details at all and shape of the body with it's inner carcass prevent from making whole battle section for this model), work on rivets and add up other extras which I would like to leave till the very end of my build (it's a secret plan for now as some additional research still has to be done).

Rivets gave me a bit of a heading, I know the technique of punching rivets out of paper/card using needle, but I had to find other way round, and I did:] I have not applied rivets all over the body yet, as testing grounds I used suspension and road wheel trolleys and spring equalizers. It looks like this: