PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > The Armory

Old 04-13-2014, 01:26 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Mazur D-350 by Captain Slog (Orlik 1:25)

Hi All,

Welcome to my build log of the Orlik Mazur D-350.

I am a complete amateur when it comes to card models, having only done some search lights and the funnel of the GPM 1:200 scale Bismarck which is posted on a ship model site. I wanted to do card models as a break from my 1:64 wood HMB Endeavour and found this site whilst searching for other card options.

After seeing the impressive array of card models being built on here I needed to try my hand at some military vehicles and after seeing Tim Crowe’s excellent and now famous Mazur! I decided that would be my first vehicle build.

I really like the different looking support vehicles as a change from the usual tanks (I also bought the GPM M26 Dragon Wagon because of KCStephens example but the assembly drawings are very vague!)

The kits and laser cut forms were purchased from Orlik’s on-line shop in Poland ( sklep.orlik-models. pl/ )and I was impressed with their service, responding to all my e-mail questions I had.

Don’t expect a fast build as time is very limited to a couple of hours at a weekend and I will fit it in with the Bismarck.

I guess I have picked difficult models (Bismarck, D-350 and Dragon Wagon) to start out card modelling with; my theory is I am more likely to stick with them rather than trying to build simple stuff first which I have no interest or enthusiasm for. Time will tell.

Just too really see my level of commitment (or insanity) I will start the individual track links first. Before spending hours cutting out all the parts I wanted to do a couple of links first to see how they go together and to work out the best assembly method.