PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Article Discussions

Old 10-28-2012, 09:56 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
converting to a particular scale

Folks,
I am in the middle of making a few props for 15mm scale; however, I am scratch building everything. I am new to scale modeling in this manner, so I decided to ask ideas and assistance on this topic.

I am measuring from (base to top of head) for my 15mm figures, and I am doing Adobe Photoshop for my paper figures. I wanted to be different, so I am doing triangle format with a top down closure. In addition, one of the points will detail the forward facing field, which will allow for flank and rear facing fields.

However, I am finding it difficult to convert real life scale (1:1) to 15mm. If we assume that an average man is 5’10” and 15mm scale represents the average man height – would that mean each mm on a 15mm scale be equal to 118mm?

Math used to calculate this
5’10” = 1778mm = 1778/15 = 118.53~ = 118mm rounded down.

OR,
I am I thinking too much on this topic. I have thought about using a simple 1:72 scale; however, I don't have the room for 1:72.

Thank you
JJ
Google Adsense
Old 10-28-2012, 10:42 AM

Total Downloaded: 54.96 MB
OK. A quick search renders the following:

Quote:
[Wikipedia:] ... A more recent development, especially in wargaming of land battles is 15 mm white metal miniatures, often referred to as 1:100. The use of 15 mm scale metals has grown quickly since the early 1990s as they allow a more affordable option over 28 mm if large battles are to be refought, or a large number of vehicles represented. The rapid rise in the detail and quality of castings at 15 mm scale has also helped to fuel their uptake by the wargaming community.