PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Article Discussions

Old 10-20-2010, 08:24 PM

Total Downloaded: 24.06 MB
how to make ship / boat's paper model pattern?

Hi all,
newbie here.

I'm aware that lot's of software available out there for paper model making. (but take time to master it, especially 3D design, which time is a luxury that I got hehe).

so wondering, how to accurately make a ship / boat's paper model pattern using the traditional way. Calculate it, draw it then cut it to dry fit, etc.

I wanted to build a paper model of a particular cruise ship, but had difficulties to make the paper model patter for the bow and stern area.

any suggestion guys?
thanks in advance.
Fiat
Google Adsense
Old 10-21-2010, 07:49 AM

Total Downloaded: 83.31 MB
I have only used the computer for scale models. In my teen years I did a lot of free hand stuff that looked the part but I would not bet they were accurate in scale. So I can tell you about computer programs I use but that's all. Sorry.
CT
Old 10-21-2010, 08:37 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
I would like some answers too!!!

There MUST be some drafting tips or SOMETHING to help us along.:(
I know Geoffrey Heighway (Micromodels) drew by hand. Somebody PLEASE share what he knew or how he did it.

I have 2 vessels I want to model, 1 fiction (The Leakin' Lena) and 1 non-fiction reality (The Madaket). I will, at some point, jump right in and get-r-dun. Hopefully I will NOT be too tempted to STEAL hull designs from somebody...want to help keep me honest?

Enough outta me

Old 10-21-2010, 10:08 AM
Banned