PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Aviation

Old 05-21-2008, 10:07 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Orlik Savoia Marchetti S.M. 79 Sparviero

This is my first build thread so wish me luck.

I bought this kit from Old Troll when he held his half-a-buck-a-page-sale a couple of months back. I had a good look when it first arrived and then put it at the back of my work desk while I worked on other models.

I thanked Old Troll for the models he sold me the other day and he told me to enjoy what he sold me and post pictures ....so thats what I'll do. I'm going to enjoy building this SM79 and I'll post pictures of the build.

I'm going to build this at 1:20 upscaled from 1:33 (165%) so again wish me luck.

I've built a metric scale cube and got the lamination thickness for the frames sorted and put some of Part 1 together. This is the floor of the cockpit. The parts beneath the floor are the supports for the wing spars where they enter the fuselage. The part stuck in the floor of the cockpit is put there to show how I got the thickness for the spars and frames right ie combined card till I got a tight fit. The spar and frame thickness is 1.5mm (1/16th). I couldn't understand the "English" instructions to find out how thick the laminating thickness had to be (finish the thickness at 1mm or add the paper to 1mm) something about 1mm. One thing is for sure 1.65 x 1 mm was going to be too thick.

This model has a lot of detail and lots and lots of framing and spars. This makes it ideal for upscaling.

Anyone got some photos of the inside of the cockpit. I searched the web and pretty well drew a blank. Lots of great footage on Youtube.
Attached Thumbnails
Orlik Savoia Marchetti S.M. 79 Sparviero-image-1-small.jpg  

Last edited by Roddo; 05-21-2008 at 10:17 AM.
Google Adsense
Old 05-21-2008, 10:26 AM

Total Downloaded: 424.90 MB