PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Aviation

Old 06-22-2008, 07:35 AM

Total Downloaded: 622.51 MB
1/72 Convair B-36 Peacemaker

Hi guys! I'm a newbie of this forum. I've been collecting diecast airplane models for several years though, I realized that I had to make a model what I want by myself, which means that almost of all those assembled models have some issues and they can't be beyond my allowance whichi is not too high. So, I got started making my origianal models. However, I don't have any cup and skill. It looks kinda audacity though, I wanna make it with your helps/tips/ informations and finish this model although I'm not sure how long it will take. I appreciate all the inputs from you all!!!

Here's one of my model, 1/72 B-36. To be honest, I wanted to make it in 1/32 scale though, I gave up as there's no room in my tiny house. I got started the cockpit section first. Major bulkheads of the cockpit section were drawn on a cardboard which had a thickness of 2mm. Though it looked kinda too thick, I thought this section needed sufficient stiffness since this section is to be a base portion of a nose gear and to be installed a weight to fix a tail strike issue (I believe this model is gonna be a tail heavy model.)

A 1mm dia. hole were torn at the center of a fuselage, which is used to check the alignment of the one during assembly.

A transparent cockpit window assembly using a former with heating up was not made since I wanted to make inner frames of cockpit windows where was installed some switch panels, an ovehead console, ceilings and so on. I will make the interior of both the cockpit and the navigator/nose gunner station only. I forgot to take a pic of the cockpit floor. The white plastic pipe which can be seen in the first pic (Upper = Aft, Lower = Fwd) has a dia of 1.6mm and it was added to increase rigidity on the center hole.

The forward nose gear well has been painted in green.