PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Aviation

Old 02-18-2012, 02:59 PM

Total Downloaded: 2.91 GB
Farman Moustique F451

Hello folks,

Just to get the show on the road. I have not been able to come to grips with some of the more common design tools used for model design, e.g. Sketchup, Blender, etc., so I'll just stick with what I know. I will be using Autodesk Inventor and even with this, I am no expert. I will be drawing each part individually, but as it is a simple, blocky design, this should not pose too many problems.
Starting point is a set of plans, scaled to 1/33. Designed so far are formers for the internal structure to which skins are attached,the same approach for the PWS 50 parts. Any way I'll keep you posted on progress.

All the best and happy modelling

Bernie
Attached Thumbnails
Farman Moustique F451-farman-moustique-plans.jpg  
Google Adsense
Old 02-18-2012, 05:35 PM

Total Downloaded: 2.24 GB
Looking forward to following this!!!
Old 02-19-2012, 02:44 AM

Total Downloaded: 54.96 MB
Very interesting. Always thought you could use ordinary model airplane drawings as well. There is a good tutorial by Rob Carleen, from Fiddlers Green, I think.

Farman Moustique F451-robcarleen-fuseframe.jpg

Tried to find it at that site, but couldn't. I have it , though, and if you'd like to have it, just send me a pm with your regular email address (file too large to attach).

- Leif
Old 02-19-2012, 03:30 AM

Thanks Leif, that would be great.
B.
Old 02-29-2012, 02:39 PM

A start to the project with some internal bulkheads laminated to some cereal-box card. This is just a quick assembly of these parts to check my dimensions and to make sure they go where they are supposed to. So far so good.

I will use this structure to form the complex curves around the wing-roots and the top decking, as per Rob Carleen's informative article (graciously supplied to me by Leif Ohlsen).

Happy modelling

Bernie
Attached Thumbnails