PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Aviation

Old 08-14-2012, 03:58 PM

Total Downloaded: 7.83 MB
biplane wings rib effect

I have never built a bi-plane before. I hate wing rib formers with a passion especially when you go to all the trouble to make them only to find out that you could have achieved the same results with few or none. I am building the Sopwith Tri-plane that is available here in the downloads. I wanted to get the rib effect on the wings and came up with a very simple and effective method. I will share for those who are lazy like me.

First score the wings at the leading edge and then all the ribs. then using the scroll method roll the whole wing face up using a 1/4" rod as shown.

Then bend each rib joint to form the rib protrusions.
(this actually should be done prior to rolling but I forgot and had to do it after)

Then straighten it and fold at the leading edge and glue the trailing edge flush. Insert a scewer as a spar and glue in the appropriate location to maintain the proper airfoil shape.

When you are done you have a strong wing that does not need rib formers and you have a nice consistent sag between the ribs.
Attached Thumbnails
biplane wings rib effect-gedc0191.jpg   biplane wings rib effect-gedc0194.jpg   biplane wings rib effect-gedc0195.jpg   biplane wings rib effect-gedc0196.jpg   biplane wings rib effect-gedc0198.jpg  

biplane wings rib effect-gedc0202.jpg   biplane wings rib effect-gedc0205.jpg  
Google Adsense
Old 08-14-2012, 04:39 PM
ADMINISTRATOR

Total Downloaded: 1.79 GB
That is a most fascinating technique. Good on ya for coming up with that one.
It will be a must try on my next early aviation build.

Respect the Paper, RESPECT IT!
GET OFF MY LAWN!
Old 08-14-2012, 07:03 PM

Total Downloaded: 424.90 MB
Those wings look really good.