PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Aviation

Old 09-15-2014, 09:58 AM

Total Downloaded: 54.96 MB
PZL-55 Projected Polish fighter, 1/16 scale (a "Model by Marek" reworked)

I'm an editor, more than anything. I've been editing texts professionally & academically for most of my life, and it seems that's the aspect of modeling I ought to try to develop. For some time now, I've searched for a suitable subject to edit. By pure chance, and out of fatigue after looking high and low for a subject that attracted me, I suddenly found this model:

What you see above is my new cover page for an obscure model that I had never heard of until I ran into it by chance. It is the Marek Pacinsky design of the projected – but never completed – Polish 1939 figher PZL-55 (also known as PZL-62, which however seems to be an erroneous designation, if recent Polish research is to be trusted).

The model has not been mentioned on this site, or any other major paper-building site, as far I've been able to ascertain. The only (unfinished) build of the model I've managed to find is at the Polish Papermodels.pl. Here are a few of the build photos of the 1/33 version from that site:

PZL-55 Projected Polish fighter, 1/16 scale (a "Model by Marek" reworked)-01-paper-1.jpg PZL-55 Projected Polish fighter, 1/16 scale (a "Model by Marek" reworked)-02-paper-2.jpg

There are a couple of plastic builds out there, which give you a better impression of what an attractive aircraft this in fact is (or would have been):

PZL-55 Projected Polish fighter, 1/16 scale (a "Model by Marek" reworked)-03-plastic-1.jpg PZL-55 Projected Polish fighter, 1/16 scale (a "Model by Marek" reworked)-04-plastic-2.jpg PZL-55 Projected Polish fighter, 1/16 scale (a "Model by Marek" reworked)-05-plastic-3.jpg