PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Aviation

Old 03-08-2015, 09:49 PM

Total Downloaded: 283.81 MB
My first airplane model. A J3 Cub.

I typed a post and put the links to the pictures and the forum said something about 'post denied, too many URLs. Is it not permitted to link to my own pictures?
Google Adsense
Old 03-08-2015, 11:32 PM

Well, let's try this again.

I needed an airplane to deliver mail to the little town in my railroad layouts. The name of the town is Tobar, NV. Tobar was a real place in Nevada, but little is known about it. I am just using the name because it has a neat history. Legend has it that the name of the town came from a sign someone stuck on the train station. It said TO BAR, indicating that the bar was 'that way'. :D Folks thought it was the name of the town. Tobar was in a mining district and it did have a railroad.

I started working on the plane about February 20. I've never done one of these before, but I think this thing will be a good addition to the layout. It is for mail delivery to Tobar.

This is what the start looked like.

Unfortunately I forgot to take more pics of the progress, but here it is as of today.

Old 03-08-2015, 11:44 PM

I discovered a few things about the model. The bottom door section is hinged too far down so the door won't open properly. I did move the hinge up about 3/16" and I still have to trim a bit. The struts are too long, even with a bit of dihedral angle. I didn't worry about it, I just made the wing mount points a bit farther out. I did use florist wire inside all of the strut members. This allowed me to make them quite strong by inserting the wire into the wings and bottom of the fuselage.