PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Aviation

Old 03-22-2016, 09:40 AM

Total Downloaded: 17.20 MB
CT-114 Snowbirds (by Dave Winfield) Build

Greetings folks,

This thread is dedicated to my build of Dave Winfield's superb 1:33, Canadair CL-41 (RCAF CT-114) model in the Snowbirds livery.

This will be a slow build, as I don't typically get a lot of free time to work on papercrafting; but I will do my best to work on it on a regular basis. Hopefully, I'll manage to post updates of the build progress regularly also.

I started the build in early February. I started by printing and clearcoating all the sheets and laminating internal formers to double thickness heavy card.

The picture below shows the internal formers for the fuselage cut out and mostly ready for use, along with first couple of sections of the fuselage being assembled.

For this build, I decided to use a glue that I've never worked with before. I usually use common white PVA glue; but this time, I'm using Tombow Mono Aqua. So far, I really like this glue.

Continuing on with my build, I have proceeded to begin assembly of the fuselage, starting with the front end. The picture below shows the first two sections assembled, with former F1 in place, and the nose detail face attached. The nose detail face I've used is my own version, which I drew up before Dave posted his official version.

Of course, I haven't attached the 3D antenna and orange light parts to the nose face yet. It would imprudent to do so at this stage.

You can also see that I've got the tab strip mostly glued onto the the third section.

For this build, as with all of my aircraft builds so far, I'm planning to build wheels up. I just prefer to have my aircraft models appear to be in flight. Unfortunately, a bit of sloppy work on section 2 has forced me to rethink that decision.