PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Aviation

Old 05-26-2017, 06:21 AM
Banned

Total Downloaded: 2.43 MB
question from a first timer

I am just getting started in paper modeling and want to try my hand at all of it, "planes, vehicles both military and civilian, robots and scifi". My first love however is war planes.
I have looked on you tube and followed some tutorials but they don't always go into specifics of the build. they assume you have done it before.

My question is I notice that in the body of the plane as well as in the wing you seem to use cardboard or some thick card stock for the ribs and bulkheads. This material is thicker than the normal 65 lb or even the 110 lb paper stock. What material do you use?

Also, some seam to use wooden dowels or skewers in the build and some do not. Is this necessary and if so what is most comenly used?

I have also seen Styrofoam or another material in the wings leading eadge and in the fuselage. Again, is this necessary and what do you use exactly.

thanks for all the help
Google Adsense
Old 05-26-2017, 06:57 AM

Total Downloaded: 10.41 MB
Many good questions but no quick and easy answers.

Ribs and bulkhead thickness as used in most aircraft models varies according to the design. Most have a key (stars) next to the affected parts that indicates the thickness of the backing cardboard. Some try to put parts that need to be the same thickness together for convenience. The backing material is usually 1 mm cardboard or illustration board, sometimes it will be 0.5 mm or 1.5 mm. BTW cereal box cardboard is about 0.5 mm.

The use of wooden dowels, skewers, wire, plastic rod stock, etc. is usually done for detail work, structural reinforcement or ease of build (rolling thin paper rods can be challenging). Again, the design drawings should show you what parts you need to make and should give you appropriate patterns to make them to the correct shape.