PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Aviation

Old 11-09-2017, 04:53 PM

Total Downloaded: 302.42 MB
Help! Aircraft with complex fuselage shapes

Putting this in the "Aviation" forum because it only affects my aircraft builds.

Another epic fail. This time it was Aaron's NASA T-38A. There have been too many others.

I seem to do fine if an aircraft has a round fuselage, or formers are included. But success with fuselages having complex shapes, like the T-38, X-29, A-5A and others without formers has eluded me. Modelers like papermate and nikischutt produce excellent results with such kits, so I know it's my problem and not the kit design.

Can anyone suggest ways to conquer these types of kits? I'm not unskilled or unpracticed. I've been building card models since around 2008, and have little difficulty producing very good (IMO) models of rockets and spacecraft.

Thoughts welcome!

Les (The Voice of Authority)
Google Adsense
Old 11-09-2017, 06:27 PM

Total Downloaded: 679.43 MB
You must have frames and formers for these models. No ifs or buts. Or else you get anything but the actual looking shape.

I personally stay away from these type of kits.

Isaac
Old 11-09-2017, 06:44 PM
Eternal Member

Total Downloaded: 223.07 MB
For me:

On the T-38, I've found working from the rear forward, all the way to and including the intakes helps. I then remove the sections that are shaded.

Using a rollie tool on the rear parts in order to create a rounded edge box shape helps to get them close to the proper outline.

Then build the front section and add it to the completed rear section.

My Drawings
Old 11-10-2017, 07:59 AM

Total Downloaded: 0