PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Aviation

Old 10-25-2018, 11:15 PM

Total Downloaded: 35.34 MB
Advice on laser paper cutter (ya, another one...)

I am a novice as electronics and computer hardware or gadgets etc are concerned, so here are some questions about laser paper cutters:
1) Can this machine trace an already printed paper with the airplane parts on it?
2) Does this procedure involve software (obviously) with the desired parts to be cut at the same time?
3) any recommendations on a brand or a machine? My budget is $300 plus/minus $50

Please help
Google Adsense
Old 10-26-2018, 05:01 AM

Total Downloaded: 2.83 GB
Quote:
Originally Posted by amoscarmel View Post
1) Can this machine trace an already printed paper with the airplane parts on it?
Yes, most cutters come with software that allows tracing and cutting. However, based on my experience with Silhouette software, the trace feature is not fine enough for paper model pattern tracing.

Most cutters' software have a "Print and Cut" capability -- in short, prints registration marks on a scanned graphic that the cutter then uses to cut around the graphic. Pretty good, but again, not precise enough for paper modeling.

Quote:
2) Does this procedure involve software (obviously) with the desired parts to be cut at the same time?
Not at all sure what you're asking, but yes, the cutter software definitely requires a commitment to going to school. Preparing the graphic may require an outside program like Paint Shop Pro or Inkscape to clean up the graphic of extraneous lines, part numbers, etc. (lines that you don't want cut). Requires quite a bit of computer effort.

Quote:
3) any recommendations on a brand or a machine? My budget is $300 plus/minus $50