PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Aviation

Old 07-30-2020, 10:38 AM

Total Downloaded: 180.54 MB
Newbie question on parts assembly

I'm quite new to paper card modeling. I have picked up some basics, but I am still pulling high Gees on the learning curve.

I ran across a card model of a Short 184 and couldn't resist. A rather ambitious undertaking for a newbie, especially since it is in 1/72 scale, I admit

I have managed to get the fuselage together and turned to the tail feathers where I encountered problems. I have read and re-read the instructions and poured over the assembly drawings and they show only the completed parts with no mention of how they were assembled prior to gluing to the fuselage.

The tailfeathers consist of both sides of the fin, rudder and horizontal tailplane. One piece of each is larger than the other. I am guessing that this is to provide for an airfoil cross section in spite of there being no interior parts.

The stab and elevator look like the larger piece can be rolled into an airfoil shape and the edges glued.

The fin and rudder not so much. I am attempting to attach a photo, but this is my first post and it may or may not come through. If it doesn't, bear with me and I will get it.

Assuming the photo posts, can anyone advise me on how I should go about assembling these pieces?

sp
Google Adsense
Old 07-30-2020, 10:41 AM

Total Downloaded: 263.00 MB
I believe you fold on the line and glue the halves together. then cut the smaller shape. The other is bigger to make it easer to align the halves. it is kind of odd the small side of the stabilizer and the small of the rudder are on opposite sides.

Mike
Old 07-30-2020, 10:55 AM
ETERNAL ADMINISTRATOR

Total Downloaded: 683.37 MB
Send a message via Yahoo to rickstef Send a message via Skype™ to rickstef
Mike is correct

Score the line, apply glue to one side, fold over, and then trim to the smaller part