PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > Aviation

Old 06-10-2010, 10:40 PM

Total Downloaded: 45.80 MB
YQM-98A design and build (first time!)

So I finally decided to take the plunge and design my own airplane. I've done rockets before, but tubes are easy. This is a real challenge for me since I have limited 3D modeling experience. But so far so good. I've been working in Metasequoia (since I'm used to it), and it's working pretty well. Once I figured out how to do all the things I needed to do it started getting easier.

Anyway, the model. It's the YQM-98A. I know, I know. It's not a popular subject, but I happen to like this plane. Since I'm a UAV pilot, I like UAVs. And this plane was quite the technical accomplishment back in the 1970's that would have set the world of UAVs light years ahead of where they were. But the program got canceled and we had to wait another 20 years before we got back to that point.

Oh, yeah, the model. So after about 4 nights of working on this bad boy, I'm done with the basic model. I'm going to add wheel wells still, but I think I've got the basic airframe down. Here's a couple shots for you down below.

So, like I said, I'm need to add the wheel wells, whip up some textures, and then make a good layout with all those formers and such. I think I've seen enough designs and built enough models to know how to get it pretty close to right the first time, but I'm always open to suggestions and advice.

What do you guys think?
Attached Thumbnails
YQM-98A design and build (first time!)-render1.jpg   YQM-98A design and build (first time!)-render2.jpg  
Old 06-11-2010, 12:03 AM

Total Downloaded: 313.47 MB
Send a message via Yahoo to murphyaa Send a message via Skype™ to murphyaa
That looks pretty cool. The local air museum near me has one of these on display, minus the engine.
Old 06-11-2010, 05:50 AM

Total Downloaded: 436.97 MB
Send a message via Skype™ to SJPONeill
Looking pretty good!!