PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > The CardBoard Lounge

Old 11-12-2014, 01:46 PM

Total Downloaded: 164.37 MB
UHU - over the top?

OK, so I know that UHU is regarded as a genius, almost a saint. So dare I vent some criticism here?

First of all, a serious question: How many of you actually built this Orion III model? Please react!!

I am a fairly experienced builder. So I downloaded the Orion III (from 2001: a Space Odyssey). One takes the sometimes not very clear instruction pictures for granted. I studied the first few stages of the build - a very large amount of attention is paid to the passenger cabin, which is completely invisible once the fuselage is half complete. Then the 'windows' along the side of the fuselage. One is expected to be able to fold a 1 mm edge at right angles. Then the sides windows are 'protected by parts which have to be folded and glued double. Ok for the bigger ones, ca 3 mms, but impossible for the smaller ones, 1 to 2 mms each. Had UHU used a well known technique for this sort of double parts (always used by WMV and many other designers) it might have been slightly easier. And why not offer these almost impossible details as an option, with windows drawn for the less fanatical detail builders?

Even UHU's great designs would gain by some feedback from medium experienced builders. And is a reasonable English translation too much to ask?!

I suggest someone cooperate with UHU to make some of his models more accessible, then offer them for sale via Ecardmodels. I feel quite sure they would become a success.

One reason for the gradual decrease of interest in paper modelling is probably just this: nowadays, models are designed on screen, with details blown up. The designer forgets that most real life builders just may not have the right sort of fingers to build 1 mm parts...
Google Adsense
Old 11-12-2014, 02:01 PM

Total Downloaded: 2.91 GB
Hi Diderick,