PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > The CardBoard Lounge

Old 06-09-2010, 11:24 PM

Total Downloaded: 2.44 MB
Glue spill

Holy tolito! Just something I wanna get off my chest. Yesterday was my nightmare come true! I've never in my 3 years of card modeling ever experienced a glue spill, and my gosh I was not prepared.

So last night I was just watching some Dragonball Z at the same time that I was fixing up my desk for the next morning. Everything seemed alright, but I didn't really examine the cleaned up desk after I started watching. Then, I put my hand on my cutting mat and boom! I see my entire desk got covered with Elmers glue, supplies, models and everything! Apparentely I didn't screw the cap on tight when I was testing!

The odd bit was, I hate Elmers glue with a divine passion. When I first started modeling in paper, I experienced some really frustrating builds with Elmers, so I'm not really too happy with it. The only reason I had it on my desk was, I read an interesting thread on glue and I noticed several people used Elmers. The key I believe was to let it sit for a while and then use it as an adhesive.

Anyways, there I was spending about an hour or two that night probably around 12PM cleaning up my desk. Not to mention it ruined several of my supplies and even damaged my X-acto tool :(

So what I've learned was
A) Screw the cap tightly on all glues
B) Just use Aleene's tacky glue (Haven't tried it yet, but I just bought it today and I'm excited to try it out. I hope it's as everyone says it is! :D
C) If Elmers glue ever spills again, clean the supplies and let it dry on the surface of the desk. That way I can just peel it off rather than having to wash and wash and wash.....

Just wondering, what's your guys's worst glue spill disasters?
Google Adsense
Old 06-10-2010, 12:04 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Send a message via AIM to APA-168 Send a message via Yahoo to APA-168 Send a message via Skype™ to APA-168