PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Design Threads

Old 02-16-2011, 06:32 PM

Total Downloaded: 7.23 MB
Lego Classic Space Mini-Fig

So, shortly before I joined here, the last project I'd worked on, over at the /po/ board was a modification of someone else's Lego Minifig Papercraft. The original model that inspired me was obtained from here. Having joined Paper Modelers, I decided I needed to get a little more serious about my designs. Well... As serious as one can be about a Lego Minifig.

This is a project that my 13 and 18 year old sons have been eagerly anticipating, as we're all going to build the minifigs. (I have several different colors) and maybe even make Lego Parts, and build some of the Sets.

Thar original model was good start, but I'm an engineer, and precision is something I NEED in my life. This model was off in several respects. So, I reached into my footlockers (the ones the kids get SHOT for even looking at) and pulled out some Classic Lego sets. A bunch of pictures, and a judicious use of a pair of calipers later, and this is what I've achieved.

The layout is completed, now to begin the printing, and see if I can make it look correct.

Finished Model size is 35.9cm, or just over 14 inches tall, this matches the far less detailed model I made over on the /po/ board.

Pictured is the RED minifig, because it shows the best contrast, but I'm not sure if I'll build the White, Red, Yellow, Blue, or Black versions first.

Google Adsense
Old 02-16-2011, 06:35 PM

Total Downloaded: 709.4 KB
I would love a copy to build myself. That looks awesome, and anyone who grew up with Legos would enjoy the build.

http://dented-rick.deviantart.com/
Old 02-16-2011, 06:42 PM
Banned

Total Downloaded: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dented Rick View Post
I would love a copy to build myself. That looks awesome, and anyone who grew up with Legos would enjoy the build.