PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Design Threads

Old 06-08-2011, 08:20 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Smile R-Type Final

I have an ambitious project that I would like to share with you, and to have your suggestions and thoughts:

There is a game for PS2 called R-Type Final. For those who dont know, R-Type is a series of side-scrolling shoot-em-up games featuring the battle of humanity against an alien-type power known as the Bydo Empire.

R-Type Final features 101 different ships that you can pilot to strike down the Bydo. Some of them are really awesome in design. My idea is to model some of the ships that have the greatest design.

This will be the official post of the project. I will be updating this as the work progresses. Since I'm a novice on this art, I hope I can count with the help of everyone!
Google Adsense
Old 06-08-2011, 11:44 AM

Ok, guys, getting this started:

On this link R-Type Final Ship Gallery - IGN FAQs you will find all the ships that exist on this great game.
I will probably start with modeling the #1, The R9-A Arrowhead, which is the classic R-Type fighter. From then on, I'm thinking on working on these other models:

#13 - R902 Ragnarok II
#33 - R9DV2 Northern Lights
#42 - R9F Andromalus
#70 - R13T Echidna
#73 - R13B Charon

The Bydo ships (from 75 to 98) are pretty awesome, but are probably more difficult to build due to the curved surfaces (all models that resemble living beings are more difficult, I guess).

#99 - R-99 Last Dancer
#100 - R-100 Curtain Call

I will probably also have to model some of the Force shields, the small round artifacts that connect to the front or back of the ships. I will attach them to this thread when I find good pictures to show you all.

What does everyone think? Should I start from somewhere else? Any other ships that you think might be worth building? Any comments on my ship selection so far? Any tips for building the damn Bydo ships?