PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Design Threads

Old 02-04-2012, 11:39 AM

Total Downloaded: 614.80 MB
Sikorsky S-40, hand drawn

I preface this by saying I am a long time builder of paper models, but not a designer, at all. I have no graphic arts software, and no experience with Sketchup. However, my wife may be the last architect in Atlanta to still do all her design work at a big drafting table with parallel rule and pencil and ink; so as long as I can stay out of her work, I can explore the trigonometry of design graphically and work in large scale formats on paper.

I got hooked on this after building the FG Sikorsky's S-39 (designed by forum member Mauri Liso) and S-38 (by Glen Volyn), both of which I enjoyed more than almost any other models I have ever built. Part of the charm is the clever sculptural solutions in the designs, and part is the wonderful retro sturdiness of the Sikorsky's themselves. I wanted the sequel, and decided to try it at home. I am aware of Bob Bendorff's nice model of the S-40, but wanted to try myself to capture the curves in something more like the FG design style. So I collected photos, and 3D views off the internet, corresponded with the Sikorsky archives, watched the Fred Astair/Ginger Rogers movie "Flying Down to Rio", and and with Don Boose's help, read two contemporary aviation magazine articles.