PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Design Threads

Old 01-29-2015, 09:26 PM

Total Downloaded: 313.46 MB
Etiquette of Publishing Kit-Bashed Models

Hey all, I'm very new to the hobby. I've only done three models (one's in the last stages) and intend on sticking to unmanned satellite and space craft subjects. As a plastic military aircraft builder I'm no stranger to and not averse to kit-bashing - taking parts from one kit that will fit better, or improve the detail of another kit.

In paper models though, I wonder where the line is?

Let's say that I download someone's plans that are 1/48th scale and bump it to 1/24th (my preferred scale at the moment). There's a lot of cutting and redesigning needed to fit the big parts now 200% larger onto A4 stock. In addition, what was added as a graphic (think thruster or instrument panel) by the original designer can now be replaced with a suitable part. But I'm not smart enough to calculate circumferences, so I'd rather grab the part from someone else's model whose modeled that part already.

Okay, that's well and good for me but, I put the effort into figuring out what to put where, and maybe there's someone else out there who'd like the option of my bash. Is my work publishable - maybe I should rather say "sharable"? Should I include a bibliography of sorts to list contributors even if I put no effort into asking their permission?

I ask because, you know, plagiarism. And frankly, respect. There's a lot of talented designers and I don't hold a candle to you guys. Hmm, I don't hold an xacto knife to you guys? So I appreciate your opinions before I cross that line.
Google Adsense
Old 01-29-2015, 11:15 PM
Banned

Total Downloaded: 576.80 MB