PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Designers helping designers

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2008, 02:29 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 525
Meta: Textures

This thread is for any with a question on using textures inside Meta.
Reply With Quote
Login to remove ads
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2008, 02:37 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 525
Re: Meta: Textures

I am working towards completing a model which I hope will be good enough for the shop.

I have completed the Meta 3D design phase and have started the texture and colouring phase.

As this model with be for sale I thought it best not to use the original scans I had from a magazine as they are clearly labeled with copyright and the artist name.

So decided to draw my own line drawing. This done for the port side I applied it a a texture to the 3D model. However the vertical line on the side of the rear fuselage distort as they pass from one face to the next.

I load my model in Pep and now they seem OK.

Any ideas on how to get the Meta view to look correct?

Cheers JTF
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Bf108SS02.jpg (56.9 KB, 33 views)
File Type: jpg Bf108SS01.jpg (54.4 KB, 31 views)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2008, 06:08 PM
cgutzmer's Avatar
Design Admin
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Sun Prairie WI
Posts: 7,104
Re: Meta: Textures

That looks really good - I know nothing about Meta but it might be my next step too - kinda waiting to see what kind of decent tutorials I can find on here, zealot or papermodelers.
Chris
__________________
Want to buy some models from independent designers? http://www.ecardmodels.com and visit the shop!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2008, 06:26 PM
The Orange's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hollister, California
Posts: 696
Re: Meta: Textures

You know what, I've been working with only the default textures in MEta ever since a year ago when I first started.About Last Year in December, I was able to use Custom Textures and they appeared in Pepakura. Now it won't show up, what do you guys do?
__________________
For the winter:
1/32 Skyline F2H-3 Banshee
1/33 Supermarine Scimitar
1/48 P-51D SOZ
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2008, 08:16 PM
nothing's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Zebulon NC
Posts: 1,545
Re: Meta: Textures

jt you might need to change the view settings from software to either direct 3d or open gl.

@soaring i dont understand the question.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 212.jpg (50.5 KB, 16 views)
__________________

Reply With Quote
Login to remove ads
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2008, 08:56 PM
The Orange's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hollister, California
Posts: 696
Re: Meta: Textures

It's like this. I make a model in Meta, and no, I only use the materials given. You know, like varients of the rainbow, red, yellow, blue...

When I want to add more than just that, like shadowing, and other things, I make my texture in a Paint program. After, I map it in Meta. Here's where the problem comes in, the Texture appears to be locked in Meta, however, when I open up pepakura the texture doesn't show.
__________________
For the winter:
1/32 Skyline F2H-3 Banshee
1/33 Supermarine Scimitar
1/48 P-51D SOZ
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2008, 09:03 PM
nothing's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Zebulon NC
Posts: 1,545
Re: Meta: Textures

thats puzeling. do you create material asign color then set material to face? if you could send me an example i might better see waht is going on.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2008, 09:55 PM
The Orange's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Hollister, California
Posts: 696
Re: Meta: Textures

I'll post a picture tomorrow
__________________
For the winter:
1/32 Skyline F2H-3 Banshee
1/33 Supermarine Scimitar
1/48 P-51D SOZ
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2008, 03:04 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 525
Re: Meta: Textures

Quote:
Originally Posted by nothing
jt you might need to change the view settings from software to either direct 3d or open gl.
That works to a degree. The lines now look OK but one or two go missing. :o

I'll play around some more.

Cheers JTF
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2008, 06:55 AM
nothing's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Zebulon NC
Posts: 1,545
Re: Meta: Textures

one thing to think about is that meta is not that powerfull an app(relativily speaking) on ocasion i get the same thing but it has to do with program and not the textures. even though you get some distortion it doesnt mean the tetxture is messed up. if you rotate and look from another perspective you see it straighten up. i hope that made sense. i havnt seen that problem in a while. it might also have to do with the quality of the texture used.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Login to remove ads
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2