PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Designers Corner > Designers helping designers

Old 01-11-2018, 11:43 AM

Total Downloaded: 37.94 MB
How to make model in format (A2) when all you have is (A3) ?

Hey, here is the question.

My local printing offices can only offer me prints to size A3 (paper format).

So when i design my models, i am bound to this size ? (A3)

Or are there any techniques to manipulate with A3 prints to make models bigger.

Like, can you glue two A3 formats together or something , so you can make bigger model in the end ?

I hope you understand me, i am very new to paper modeling. I am makeing
my first model right now. I made plans so they fit A3 format, but i am asking , for my future projects.

Thank you very much, i like your works very much.
Google Adsense
Old 01-11-2018, 12:04 PM

Total Downloaded: 72.31 MB
You basically make the parts split over multiple pages
then you cut them out and assemble them
to make assembly easier you can add tabs to the pieces
or you can join the pieces edge to edge with just glue
or you can join them edge to edge but put a strip along the back to make the join stronger.

as the designer you are definitely not limited to the size of your printer.

designs like the models at fiddler's green limited the size of the model to the biggest scale that would fit on standard paper. (that's why they are all a little bit different scale)

Remember sometimes when the model gets big enough you have to also design forms inside to add structure to the model. Lots of ship models are designed this way.
Old 01-11-2018, 12:19 PM

Ohh, thats good to hear. Yes i get your tips. Thanks Alot !
Old 01-11-2018, 12:41 PM

Total Downloaded: 652.45 MB
Bigger than A3? Like in "A2" or similar? That is quite big.

I can imagine only a couple of models that would really require such large format. And experience has taught me that the bigger a single part is, the more troublesome it gets in every sense.