PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > First Cuts; A Lounge

Old 10-31-2010, 01:49 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Recommendation of cutting circles and small areas

I am relatively new to paper cutting. I've been working with a couple of simple models but now have a couple that are more complex. I have a questions about tools.

1) What is the best method for cutting/scribing circles. I tried putting an e-xacto knife in a small compass and that did not work.
2) What is the best kind of knife for extremely small detail work? I have the pen-type knife, but that doesn't seem to work well as there is lots of play at the end of the blade, so it's very difficult to control the blade.

I'm attaching a couple of pictures to give everyone and idea of the sizes.
The first attachment shows some circles and the dimensions I am working with. The second attachment shows the close detail work.

Any recommended tools and sources? I'm looking forward to learning more and appreciate the help.
Thanks,
John
Attached Thumbnails
Recommendation of cutting circles and small areas-forforum_01.jpg   Recommendation of cutting circles and small areas-forforum_02.jpg  
Google Adsense
Old 10-31-2010, 02:31 AM

Hi John,

many ways lead to Rome, as we say, but i'll try to answer your 2 questions by showing my methods.
1. Cutting circles
As i work with even smaller circles (5mm and below), i use a so-called "Punch&Die-Set". It's a small iron stencil (u-shaped) with an acryl-glass stencil-plate on top of it. In both stencils, there are corresponding 9 holes in different sizes.
You can lay the paper between these two stencils and use a stamp to punch through the desired diameter. I attached 4 pics showing the device.
For your larger circles, i'd recommend punch pliers. They're usually used for leatherworking (belts, horse outfit etc.), but can cut as easily holes in paper.
Another pic here showing it.
2. Cutting small parts