PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > First Cuts; A Lounge

Old 07-21-2011, 04:52 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Send a message via Yahoo to ultra
cutting/folding

hello everyone

i have been on this site for more than two years now and still don't know how do u guys make such models

i might really sound like a complete noob but how on earth do u fold and cut models that accurate and i've seen many tool that i don't even know what they mean in my language like circle cutter i mean what is a circle cutter i never saw one and i never used one i cut my circles in the old way (using scissors) and xacto knives (if i spelled it right) the first time i saw one was today and i thought okay i'm a total newbie

so my question is what r the simple alternatives for these tools (xacto knives , circle cutters , cutting boards , compass (if i spelled that right too) ) and please i don't need an answer saying go pick that at the local hardware store as we really don't have these shops around at all

sorry for talking too much and thnx in advance

ultra stone
Google Adsense
Old 07-21-2011, 05:33 PM

Total Downloaded: 567.16 MB
This is a compass circle cutter:
cutting/folding-olfa-cutter.jpg
You can adjust the radius of the circle, but it cannot cut very small circles.

This is a cutting mat:
cutting/folding-olfa-mat.jpg
They can be of different colors or even clear. They are made of various types of plastic.

Most of the tools mentioned on this forum can be found at an office supply store or a craft store.
Old 07-21-2011, 05:36 PM

Total Downloaded: 23.50 MB
Hello Ultra,
here you can see a kind of compass Rotary cutter:
OLFA

in the attached photo, there are various pliers, knives (cut balsa) and glue, which I use.

If you are a beginner do not attempt complex models.