PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > First Cuts; A Lounge

Old 12-10-2013, 07:18 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Question First Paper Model, having some difficulties?

Hello! I'm an amateur model-builder and I've built a few plastic Star Wars vehicles in my time. I wanted to add a few 3D Papercrafts to my display and I've found some online.

The one I started is T3-M4 but I'm having a really hard time with a few pieces:
(See attached image)

For example, one piece has a thousand little jaggy lines which are really hard to cut properly, and even harder to fold (the piece in the bottom right corner). There is another piece that is supposed to be a squat round cylinder, but I had a really hard time making it round (near the bottom left corner).

Do you have any tips that a beginner could use?
Attached Thumbnails
First Paper Model, having some difficulties?-robotkotor.jpg  
Google Adsense
Old 12-10-2013, 10:36 AM

Total Downloaded: 17.76 MB
let me see if I can help you out a bit. All those little triangles (the jaggy lines as you described) are glue tabs. To get them to fold you need to score all of the fold lines before you cut the project out. Scoring helps those fold down easier. For cylinders, find something round that is about the same size as what the cylinder is supposed to be and use it to pre-round the project using the palm of your hand or even your leg to offer some padding so the paper doesn't wrinkle. By pre-shaping the cylinder it helps it to hold the shape while applying glue. I personally would have chosen something a little more simple to be my first paper model but you have a good challenge for you. I wish you luck. OH and the important thing to remember IT"S PAPER if you screw up a piece you can reprint it and don't have to buy a new kit just for that part. That's the great thing about paper modelling...Let me know if you need anything else.

Rusty
Old 12-10-2013, 11:03 AM

Total Downloaded: 257.44 MB