PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > First Cuts; A Lounge

Old 02-26-2017, 12:23 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Beginner question

Hi all,

Newbie to the forum and I have a general question. I have been interested in gothic architecture for some time now and recently came across some paper models of various gothic cathedrals. I have never built a paper model before but would like to try.

We are moving into a new house soon and my wife seems to think that we would not have enough room for me to build one of these. So my question to other is how much space do you actually need to work on a model? I know this is pretty vague, but just trying to get an idea of if I would have enough room to sit a desk off to the side somewhere to work on one of these.
Google Adsense
Old 02-26-2017, 09:06 AM

Total Downloaded: 171.54 MB
Matthew, welcome to the forums.

You don't need much space to work on and build a model. But for displaying your finished architecture model, you will need some space. Dependant on the dimensions of the base and the height.
Old 02-26-2017, 09:44 AM

Total Downloaded: 567.16 MB
Yes, a small desk off to one side should work. One with a desk top of at least 18 inches (≈457 mm) by 24 inches (≈610 mm). Some people go even smaller and use a lap desk.

Make sure you have plenty of light. Shadows can make cutting the parts difficult at times.
Old 02-26-2017, 09:57 AM

Total Downloaded: 1.24 GB
Dear MeatballMarinara:
Some people have Gone to the second hand store and gotten a older hard sided brief case. to hold the modeling tools then used the case as a lap desk.
Once the model is made see if the local library or church would like to display it.
There are a couple of threads on Tool kits and some on what does ones work space look like. There are some free church one page models that make a good learning experience before starting a big project.
Good luck and enjoy,
Miles
Old 02-26-2017, 10:44 AM

Total Downloaded: 37.97 MB