PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > First Cuts; A Lounge

Old 07-21-2020, 05:50 AM

Total Downloaded: 89.61 MB
New models

Hi fellow makers.
I am very new to this hobby.
I've seen a lot of model kits available for ships, which is my main part of the hobby.
My question is, if i want to make a model of a particular ship that does'nt come as a kit, how do I do it. Mostly getting the flaring of the hull etc.
Google Adsense
Old 07-21-2020, 10:33 AM

Total Downloaded: 4.62 GB
While there are not many books about designing and building paper model ships, there are many many books about designing or drafting ("taking off the lines"), building and planking the hull of a wood ship model which will be helpful to you.
Wood is nothing more than incompletely processed paper.
Many of the principles of building a plank and bulkhead wood ship model carry over into paper modeling, whether it is of a sailing ship or a modern steel ship.
Buy a paper model, by an established publisher, of a ship from the same period as the one you want to model, and study how its designer dealt with the challenge of forming a curvilinear 3D hull from pieces of flat paper that flex in only one direction.
If you are not easily intimidated you can go to the UHU02 blog and follow step by step his creation of an obsessively detailed paper model of the Yamamoto.
There are also several threads in the watercraft section of this forum about researching designing and building paper ship models from scratch.
Old 07-21-2020, 10:46 AM

Total Downloaded: 582.17 MB
I totally agree.

I have done a couple boats for the gaming community in the last couple months ( a Bragòsso and Charon's Ferry), and my approach was to build a couple similar boats from established designers first. This helps to get a feel for how a designer handled the shapes and helped me understand how I needed to adjust for the shapes I needed.

What type of ship are you wanting to do?