PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > First Cuts; A Lounge

Old 01-31-2021, 09:54 AM

Total Downloaded: 124.56 MB
How did you get started in paper models?

Reading the forum this AM and noticed that I have been doing this for 10 years on and off! I started thinking and remembering how I got started down this path. THought I would start a thread so others could share how they discovered this hobby.

Mine was very specific. I was at the Sackler Gallery in DC. In the gift store they had an origami kit. My wife bought it for me since she knew I liked to do things with my hands to keep busy. Really enjoyed it (still do). One day I was on line looking for designs and ran across the Canon paper model site. I saw the Japanese castles. Thought it would be fun since they are free and love Japanese things. Never looked back. I still build the Canon castles from time to time. Ended up doing mostly architecture and planes. I like my building models complex and my planes simple. My issue with the buildings is the size. I am still trying to figure out where to put my l'Instant Durable Mont St. Michel before I start building it.
Google Adsense
Old 01-31-2021, 10:08 AM

Total Downloaded: 520.55 MB
When I was a kid, back in the 60s, my dad gave me a copy of 'Cardboard Engineering' by G.H.Deason. It was a great book - full of ideas and was a real inspiration. The first thing I remember building was a model of an Austin 7 during one of the school holidays. Been 'tinkering' on and off ever since. Things have come a long way since then :o) Great idea for a thread btw.
Old 01-31-2021, 10:39 AM

Total Downloaded: 567.16 MB