PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > First Cuts; A Lounge

Old 04-01-2021, 07:14 AM

Total Downloaded: 517.46 MB
Need Help - Inwald's Douglas Bader's Spitfire

Hello all - I am new to paper models and have completed a few easy builds. Having looked at the top downloads on this site (over 4000 people have downloaded this model) - I thought it would be a good starting point. I am determined to complete the Spitfire as my first aircraft build.
It has presented many challenges, I am learning as I build and every assembly is a new challenge. I have had some fit issues with this kit but overall, I am happy with the results so far. I have enjoyed working on this model. I am nearing completion and need some help with the wing fillet parts.
Do you attach the wing fillet piece from rear to front? or front to rear?
Any advice on gluing these parts will be much appreciated. I am nervous about wrecking what I have accomplished to date.
I am unsure as to what part of the fillet to glue first? And how do you ensure a snug fit to the fuselage?
Also - Need advice on what clear sheets to use for the canopy? I have clear photo paper but it does not hold shape - it is too thin. I followed Andrew's instructions and have finished the mold. Every time I attempt to make the canopy - the plastic does not hold the shape? If I add more heat - it deforms and turns cloudy.
Attached Thumbnails
Need Help - Inwald's Douglas Bader's Spitfire-img_2418.jpg  
Google Adsense
Old 04-01-2021, 07:36 AM

Total Downloaded: 257.44 MB
Largest contact area is at the rear...its also the most visible area.
So start by lining it up and attaching it there.

Trick is to preshape the part as much as possible, so it fits into place without glue.
Obviously paper only bends in one direction, so there is a trick to forming the piece in two directions at once.