PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > First Cuts; A Lounge

Old 05-26-2009, 04:42 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Question Half-track for a noobie?

Hi All
I'm pretty new to paper modelling & am looking for an AFV that isn't too difficult to build. Nevertheless I need a challenge & some detail in the model.

I'm leaning towards half-tracks especially the Sdkfz 7 or 251 as I find these aesthetically pleasing an M2 would probably be easier tho having far less wheels!

I would like to build something like the GPM Greif but that's out of my league for now. (I'm sure I will learn to build tracks one day!)

I found a nice 1/72 251 on Exclusive Models which I can cut my teeth on. (& maybe colour in paintshop if the authors don't mind. )

I would prefer a larger scale - 1/33 or 1/25 so maybe I could try upscaling the pages. I recall reading that fineprint can rescale pages eg A3 to A4, so I might try that out.

Any suggestions on kits etc welcome.
Google Adsense
Old 05-26-2009, 05:10 PM

Total Downloaded: 314.05 MB
You might try www.papertigerarmaments.com. The kits aren't free, but reasonably priced. They are 1:72 scale, but enlarge to 1:48 very nicely, and some of their kits might even stand up to enlarging to 1:32 without too much loss in translation. Some of the Paper Tiger models are now available through www.ecardmodels.com, but I don't know if any of the halftracks are posted there.
Old 05-27-2009, 06:56 AM

Thanks, I will definately try those scale changes.
I am gonna try the 'Exclusive' & the 'Papertiger' 251 & see how I get along. The 2 different build designs should give me some good experience.

I will post some 'after the bombing' pics of the results
Old 05-27-2009, 07:18 AM

I find a 251 and 250 half track some where. It may be from this site with many nice free small model... Y's Paper Modelworkshop / Models by Visiters Some IMHO are well enough in detail that you can enlarge easily.
Old 05-27-2009, 08:09 AM

Quote: