PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Help Desk > Hardware

Old 03-31-2012, 01:16 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Paper models and TSA

Hi, I am an airline pilot and an active paper modeler. I was thinking it would be really cool to be able to build on the road. The only problem is, I don't know if security (TSA) will let an exacto knife through? I know that small scissors are ok but I think an exacto knife would be maybe too hard to get through. Any one have any ideas on what alternative building tools I could use to get through security? I know this is an odd question, but my layovers are sometimes 20 hours or more and I am dying to build!
Google Adsense
Old 03-31-2012, 02:03 PM

Total Downloaded: 27.71 MB
Have you tried to use a rotary cutter yet?

I use it and a quilting plastic ruler to guide it for stright cuts.

Scissors are used for arcs and circles.

Do need a knife for inside cuts-look for the breakaway disposable ones at your destination. Grocery stores usually have them.

Mike
Old 03-31-2012, 02:18 PM

Total Downloaded: 1.24 GB
Dear Idoitall:
Could you put the modeling kit in a suitcase and use it as checked baggage, instead of a carryon? Granted you then could not build models in the air in the cockpit (sorry very bad joke could not resist) but you would have the modeling stuff at the layover? also do you layover at the same airports could you just have small kits with Knives left at the hotels? The hobby store in Buffalo has Blade and holder with their ad on it for $2.00.
Some Ideas,
MILES
Old 03-31-2012, 03:31 PM

Good ideas guys. I'll look into that rotary cutter. I do not check my luggage because I am not allowed to. I pan on making small models and just using a plastic box to carry them around in.

Also I just asked the lady at the front desk if I could leave a knife at the hotel with them, and she said yes. Problem is however that I stay at about 20 different hotels in any given month. Thanks guys!
Old 03-31-2012, 04:55 PM