PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Kit Reviews

Old 12-30-2019, 10:59 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
VOC "Duyfken" 1606 /Seahorse/

Hi,
let me move here Mr Ab Hoving's review on the new model of a new publisher "Seahorse" (kit announcement [N] VOC Duyfken 1606 - 1/2019 Wydawnictwo "Seahorse")

"I like kits, but I am basically a scratch builder. I especially distrust kits of Dutch old ships. This is caused by the fact that the Dutch never made as much good material available to model builders, like for instance the English did, mostly because the Dutch never made plans of their vessels. This results in kitmakers producing fundamentally wrong models.
Making a kit of a replica of an old Dutch ship is a smart solution. The research for the Duyfken was mostly done in the end of the 90s by Nick Birmingham in Fremantle, Western Australia, where the replica was built. I had the honor to be invited to visit the project as an advisor. I spent a wonderful week there.

Eight days after my order the package with the kit was delivered from Poland, which is remarkably shorter than some years ago :-). It consisted of a 14 page booklet with 8 pages of parts and 6 of explanations, both in text (Polish and English) and very clear diagrams.
Apart from the basic kit you can also order blocks, gun barrels and lasercut sheets (3).

The whole package is very well produced with good printing and fine colors. I was especially interested in the inventive way Tomek Weremko, the driving force behind Seahorse, does his planking. Paper kits usually have problems with producing fair lines, often caused by the ribs showing through the planking. We know from his postings here that Tomek has a method of making beautifully fair hulls without any use of filler. He is demonstrating this technique in this kit, which will be an eye-opener for many of us.