PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > >

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-22-2014, 02:17 PM
Wad Cutter's Avatar
Wad Cutter Wad Cutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pacifica, Calif. near the coast over looking the Pacific Ocean near San Francisco
Posts: 1,872
Total Downloaded: 842.88 MB
Fiddlersgreen Shuttle

Once again I find myself in a with a problem. I'm trying to build the FG shuttle. When I try to seat the main body(fuselage)onto the wings, there is a gap between the two. Right now my only idea is to shim the the gap. What am I doing wrong? A day will come when I can build a paper model and not have one of these problems. Does anyone have any ideas? Has any one else built this shuttle? Thank you for any and all help offered. wc
Attached Thumbnails
Fiddlersgreen Shuttle-yimg-1119684536-101-622713581.jpg   Fiddlersgreen Shuttle-yimg-1119684536-101-628708502.jpg   Fiddlersgreen Shuttle-yimg-1119684536-101-1122768762.jpg  
Reply With Quote
Login to remove ads
  #2  
Old 01-22-2014, 02:19 PM
RunwayOneSixRight RunwayOneSixRight is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: For now Washington State.
Posts: 1,930
Total Downloaded: 594.81 MB
Hmmm, that is a tough question. In my own experience building models were this happened I just added a tad more dihedral to the wings to help close the gap.

-RunwayOneSixRight (Matthew)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-22-2014, 02:44 PM
Vermin_King's Avatar
Vermin_King Vermin_King is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 10,029
Total Downloaded: 542.05 MB
You didn't do 'Fit to Page' when you printed, did you?
__________________
A fine is a tax when you do wrong.
A tax is a fine when you do well.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-22-2014, 03:05 PM
RunwayOneSixRight RunwayOneSixRight is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: For now Washington State.
Posts: 1,930
Total Downloaded: 594.81 MB
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vermin_King View Post
You didn't do 'Fit to Page' when you printed, did you?
Oh, I hadn't even thought of that....

-RunwayOneSixRight (Matthew)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-22-2014, 03:34 PM
KCStephens's Avatar
KCStephens KCStephens is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: York, Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,159
Total Downloaded: 474.4 KB
WC
Can you cut out and remove a section down the center between the left and right wings that is as wide as the gap you are trying to fill. Then glue a strip on top of it to form a seam where the two halves butt up against each other. Then finally attach the narrower wing assembly to the fuselage?
Reply With Quote
Login to remove ads
  #6  
Old 01-22-2014, 03:35 PM
Wad Cutter's Avatar
Wad Cutter Wad Cutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pacifica, Calif. near the coast over looking the Pacific Ocean near San Francisco
Posts: 1,872
Total Downloaded: 842.88 MB
When I checked the printer setting and I didn't see that anywhere on the set up page. I do have a "Fit to Printable Area" tab and it's checked. In the past models I have had certain parts not print the model so everything fit perfectly. I still wait for that day. wc
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-22-2014, 03:41 PM
airdave's Avatar
airdave airdave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 13,293
Total Downloaded: 123.73 MB
Not sure exactly what your build problem is here,
but with regards to the printing question...

Always turn off "print to fit" or "fit to printable area"
because this will modify each page an inconsistent amount to make it fit
(usually within an extra large margin).

You want to print multiple model pages at 1:1,
no scaling, no enlargement or reduction,
"print as in document"
...and if possible, opt for no margins (borderless)
to use up more page and not cut off any edges of parts.
__________________
MY DESIGNS & FREE STUFF: Dave's Card Creations
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-22-2014, 04:04 PM
elliott elliott is offline
Eternal Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8,417
Total Downloaded: 6.51 GB
Yup, agree with VK and Airdave. Uncheck "Fit to priintable area". This might have caused you problems on past multipage models. If it hasn't been (one of) the cause(s) you've been darned lucky.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-22-2014, 06:08 PM
Wad Cutter's Avatar
Wad Cutter Wad Cutter is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pacifica, Calif. near the coast over looking the Pacific Ocean near San Francisco
Posts: 1,872
Total Downloaded: 842.88 MB
Below are all of my options for printing Page Scaling. I picked None and printed it up again. Is this what you meant? Thanks guys. I hope I got it right and this ends my problems. wc


Page Scaling:


None
Fit to Printable Area
Shrink to Printable Area
Tile large area
Tile all pages
Multiple Pages per Sheet
Booklet Printing
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-22-2014, 06:20 PM
Vermin_King's Avatar
Vermin_King Vermin_King is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 10,029
Total Downloaded: 542.05 MB
Yes, the correct answer is 'None'
__________________
A fine is a tax when you do wrong.
A tax is a fine when you do well.
Reply With Quote
Login to remove ads
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 8.33%
Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)
Copyright © 2007-2020, Paper Modelers.com