PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > Other Things We Do & Make

Old 08-21-2011, 08:56 AM

Total Downloaded: 652.45 MB
I'm learning metal embossing

I haven't devoted much time to paper modeling later because I started studying a new handicraft technique.

After one month of learning and practice, this is my very first work with metal embossing.

It's a small box of about 19X21 cms (7X8 in).

All surfaces of the wood box were laminated with tin sheets. The lid of the box was embossed from behind with several stylus, and perfected from the front with other tools.

The texture was made by hand using a very fine stylus, and the flowers were filled from behind to prevent their collapse.

The raised circles have a height of about 1mm to 1.5mm. The interior was lined with red velvet paper.

I made some mistakes in the process, but I learned a lot. I believe it came out pretty nice to be the very first thing I make using this technique.
Attached Thumbnails
I'm learning metal embossing-emboss01_01.jpg   I'm learning metal embossing-emboss01_02.jpg   I'm learning metal embossing-emboss01_03.jpg   I'm learning metal embossing-emboss01_04.jpg   I'm learning metal embossing-emboss01_05.jpg  

Google Adsense
Old 08-21-2011, 09:00 AM

Total Downloaded: 248.80 MB
Wow that looks fantastic first try or not. I can see some modeling uses in there, gets me to thinking!....Rich
Old 08-21-2011, 09:16 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by richkat View Post
Wow that looks fantastic first try or not. I can see some modeling uses in there, gets me to thinking!....Rich
Thanks for your words

Metal embossing is an easy to learn activity. You need the correct tools, lots of patience and a lot of practice too. But the possibilities are endless. And it surely can complement our paper modeling hobby (or, in fact, any kind of modeling).

Old 08-21-2011, 09:51 AM
Design Admin

Total Downloaded: 11.54 MB
gorgeous! how much you selling them for?