PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > Other Things We Do & Make

Old 06-24-2013, 08:49 PM

Total Downloaded: 47.62 MB
Getting Back into Photography

Still learning how to manipulate this camera.
I've always had an interest in not only general photography, but also astrophotography.
So this is my experiment. With the moon at perogy ( closest to the earth ) last Sunday. I thought I would give a try at shooting the moon.

For a first time, it came out not too bad. Mind you I took 40 frames at various settings.

Jim
Google Adsense
Old 06-24-2013, 10:51 PM

Total Downloaded: 0
Great picture. Last year I tried to get a image of the moon, too. But my results were very bad. I use a Fuji Finepixx 3300. But I am an amateur with photography. So I don't know to which functions I have to take attention. Your experiment is so good. I have to try on my own to get a good one like yours. Again, fantastic photo.

Greetings Andy
Old 06-24-2013, 11:23 PM

Hi Andy.
Thank you.

I'm using a Fuji HS50 bridge camera. For moon photography you need to use a slow film equivalent setting, ISO 100 and manually set your speed around 1/250 sec and set your aperture for best image and depth of field. You have to use a tripod. One can do hand held if you up the speed, but you will loose the depth of field. Just some hints for you to try.

Jim
Old 06-25-2013, 01:36 PM
Eternal Member

Location: Curently live in High Desert country, Redmond, Oregon to be specific.
Total Downloaded: 0
Send a message via AIM to Ashrunner
Once you reach infinity on the focus such as the distance the moon is, depth of field means nothing. I always shoot the moon handheld at 300mm. But then I have a stabilized lens also.