PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Papermodelers' Bar and Grill > Other Things We Do & Make

Old 09-26-2015, 12:56 AM

Total Downloaded: 342.84 MB
Anyone here play harp?

And now for something completely different

I realized that i haven't learned any practical music instrument by far, other than the flute which i learned on primary and have been forgotten anyway, so i went to a bookstore yesterday and bought myself a harp

It's a simple 10 holes C diatonic, i read that is a good one for starter, got that for a mere 4 bucks, i could have bought the beter one from Suzuki but they don't have C key in stock (mostly G)

This is the harp in question, not mine but exactly the same

Just learned how to hold it and played single notes from the internet, anyone here can help me where else to start?

Thanks in advance

P.S. I'm a complete dummies in music, and this is my first attempt since like, 6 years ago? i need to (re)learn how to read notes again now
Old 09-26-2015, 02:08 AM

Total Downloaded: 313.47 MB
Send a message via Yahoo to murphyaa Send a message via Skype™ to murphyaa
Here in the US they're called Harmonicas. Googling that might get you more info on how to play. (I'm tone deaf, so I went into percussion, i.e. beating things with sticks)
Old 09-26-2015, 09:43 AM

Yep, done that, of course, but i feel it's easier chatting with another player
Old 09-26-2015, 10:38 AM

Total Downloaded: 678.6 KB
Hey Raja
I've been playing the harmonica for years. I'm self taught and not very good at it but it is fun and I do enjoy it. Plus it drives my wife and kids crazy.
I found the easiest way to learn is to pick up a song book for beginners (the kind that has the hole number listed with an arrow to tell you which direction to blow.
Here's a picture of my old Horner Chrometta. It's in the key of C and also has a slide valve for sharp and flat notes. I still like my trusty Hohner Marine Corp Band better though. It fits nicely in your pocket.

Have fun!!!