PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > >

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-25-2019, 01:07 PM
Kevin WS's Avatar
Kevin WS Kevin WS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Currently Southern Africa.
Posts: 5,574
Total Downloaded: 425.92 MB
Run 8 Train Simulator

Does anyone here have this?
__________________
The SD40 is 53 now!
Reply With Quote
Login to remove ads
  #2  
Old 04-25-2019, 05:07 PM
airdave's Avatar
airdave airdave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 12,743
Total Downloaded: 115.17 MB
I looked at Train Simulator World (by Run 8) on Steam a couple of years ago.
But never bought it...I bought Flight Sim instead.

Check there before you buy.
Sometimes prices are cheaper...and they have regular sales.

They may have a demo download too.

Its also cool that you can never lose your game files.
__________________
MY DESIGNS & FREE STUFF: Dave's Card Creations
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-27-2019, 07:03 AM
Kevin WS's Avatar
Kevin WS Kevin WS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Currently Southern Africa.
Posts: 5,574
Total Downloaded: 425.92 MB
Thanks, Dave. I use Steam and quite like it - especially the prices sometimes!

Also, use Gog.games and Humble Bundle as well - they often have great specials as well that match or sometimes exceed Steam.

Got Run 8 up and running - stunning. A proper simulation and while I am still on a learning curve I am really enjoying myself.

Great graphics as well. Have a look at the pic full size - nothing wrong with that! And framerates are good.

Run 8 Train Simulator-2019-04-27_14-49-09.jpg

Was hoping someone here was running it so I could get some hints and tips!
Attached Thumbnails
Run 8 Train Simulator-2019-04-27_14-49-09.jpg  
__________________
The SD40 is 53 now!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-2019, 07:05 AM
Kevin WS's Avatar
Kevin WS Kevin WS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Currently Southern Africa.
Posts: 5,574
Total Downloaded: 425.92 MB
Well, have started to get into it more - a steep learning curve but everyone on the Forums is helpful, while even the Developers will assist!

Really recommend it - it is a pure simulation and really very good.

Run 8 Train Simulator-shot1.jpg
Attached Thumbnails
Run 8 Train Simulator-shot1.jpg  
__________________
The SD40 is 53 now!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-05-2019, 07:18 AM
airdave's Avatar
airdave airdave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 12,743
Total Downloaded: 115.17 MB
What level of graphics quality are you running?
I notice there are no shadows under the train...usually one of the quality options that you can turn off for better performance..

I love game visuals and the realism options.
I am always fascinated by what things are available in the graphics settings and how much a system can handle.

Right now I play World of Warships and WarThunder online mostly.
And I recently upgraded my own system to run my current games at max quality-max settings!
But I am waiting for that next update or next game that needs more performance.

This Train Sim is an older program, so I don't know what its requirements are.
What exactly do you do in this sim?
Can you ride on the train...like a passenger? or a hobo in a box car?
__________________
MY DESIGNS & FREE STUFF: Dave's Card Creations
Reply With Quote
Login to remove ads
  #6  
Old 05-05-2019, 07:28 AM
southwestforests's Avatar
southwestforests southwestforests is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: On the edge of the river valley
Posts: 1,051
Total Downloaded: 5.88 MB
Hmm, interesting. I have Trainz and have used it for quite a while.
This one I have almost no knowledge about.
Edit: Yep, been a while since I've logged on Steam, is now installing an almost 180,000 KB update! :D
__________________
Screw the rivets, I'm building for atmosphere, not detail.
later, F Scott W
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-05-2019, 07:59 AM
Kevin WS's Avatar
Kevin WS Kevin WS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Currently Southern Africa.
Posts: 5,574
Total Downloaded: 425.92 MB
Well spotted Dave. The graphics quality is towards the high side, but I have turned shadows off for the moment. My settings are below. I added the lightning in the shot above - the rest is an untouched screenshot!

My machine is not high spec'ed but is running this well. I had Train Sim but my machine was falling over and it was full of constant bugs. Every time they upgraded Train Sim more fell over. I want to relax with a sim like this, not turn into a charity programmer to try and fix something they could not write properly!

Run8 has been slick. No issues despite the huge amount of rolling stock that gets loaded in some of the yards.

Does not require steam - DRM free. Which is nice as it starts up in a few seconds.

-----------------------------------------

Specs recommended are:

CPU: 2.80 GHz Duel-Core CPU
RAM: 3 Gb RAM
64-bit Windows 7 or newer
(64-bit is a MUST)

GPU: Intel HD4400 graphics chip, or GeForce x40 card with no less than 1 gig of Video Ram. Must support DirectX 11.

-----------------------------------------

In terms of using it, it is probably the best train simulator I have come across. Very realistic.

Basically, you can put together trains and then drive them, shunt wagons etc. There is a clever AI system that facilitates the allocation of waggons to industries, the filling of empty wagons etc.

That's all for the single player. There are then a few servers, and you can then go and run trains on these as well along with a whole lot of other folks. You can dispatch instead of running a train on the servers if you so wish.

The realism is the real drawn card - you snap couplers if you don't drive properly, stall on hills etc. The realism also means that there is a steep learning curve, especially if you are not really clued up on how locos operate.

Nothing that cannot be overcome though. It has kept me engrossed for hours so far and I have only started.

--------------------------------

You can ride as a passenger (though I haven't tried it yet as I have not got any passenger stock yet). Can't jump on the boxcars though!

Pictures below - two screens of options related to graphics, and then some interior shots of an SD40 and 70. Everything mostly works - from panel lights to the radio channels, display screen settings, etc.
Attached Thumbnails
Run 8 Train Simulator-graphics.jpg   Run 8 Train Simulator-graphics-2.jpg   Run 8 Train Simulator-screeny_2019.05.05-15.46.14.jpg   Run 8 Train Simulator-screeny_2019.05.05-15.47.10.jpg   Run 8 Train Simulator-screeny_2019.05.05-15.49.55.jpg  

Run 8 Train Simulator-screeny_2019.05.05-15.50.58.jpg  
__________________
The SD40 is 53 now!

Last edited by Kevin WS; 05-05-2019 at 08:22 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-05-2019, 08:13 AM
Kevin WS's Avatar
Kevin WS Kevin WS is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Currently Southern Africa.
Posts: 5,574
Total Downloaded: 425.92 MB
southwestforests - our posts "crossed"!

Unlike Trainz, you cannot design and create stuff. Or modify things. The developers - 3DTS (who you may remember from MSTS days) have kept it that way so everything works - which it does.

Here is a link to their site...

Train Simulator World by Run 8 - We put the TRAIN back in Train Simulator

Unlike other sims, there are not a huge number of routes - SoCal and CSX West only, but given the realism factor, there are more than enough. With the base route (SoCal - Barstow and Needles) for example, you get 440 + miles to run - all prototypical.

For SoCal additional routes available are Cajon, Bakersfield, Seligman and San Bernadino. These can be run separately, but in actual fact, as you add them they all link to one another and become a continuous huge route (providing obviously they are geographically adjacent). And everything grows - so San Bernadino, for example, would add 330 + extra industries, with all the operational possibilities and so on.
__________________
The SD40 is 53 now!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-05-2019, 08:14 AM
airdave's Avatar
airdave airdave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 12,743
Total Downloaded: 115.17 MB
Specs are low...I could rock this sim!

How much is it? Where did you buy it again? Through Steam?

I had a mod for FlightSimX where you could leave the Pilot seat and walk through the cabin of aircraft.
Only worked properly with aircraft that had cabins or more detail in them.
My Concorde was good for that.
Was weird walking back through the insides of the SR71! lol
__________________
MY DESIGNS & FREE STUFF: Dave's Card Creations
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-05-2019, 08:23 AM
airdave's Avatar
airdave airdave is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Ontario Canada
Posts: 12,743
Total Downloaded: 115.17 MB
What no British routes? or British Steam?
And $50 to buy?....not a lot I guess, but I do prefer free-to-play.

Is there by chance a Model Railway Simulator?
Build a train set...cause a big accident!

Anything to get me away from Goat Simulator!!

Although...there is Robot Vacuum Simulator...hmmmm
Yes, you get to experience day to day life, as a Roomba!
Robot Vacuum Simulator 2013 — Stolidus Simulations
__________________
MY DESIGNS & FREE STUFF: Dave's Card Creations
Reply With Quote
Login to remove ads
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 8.33%
Parts of this site powered by vBulletin Mods & Addons from DragonByte Technologies Ltd. (Details)
Copyright © 2007-17, Paper Modelers.com