PaperModelers.com

Go Back   PaperModelers.com > Card Models > Model Builds > PASA, Paper Aeronautical and Space Administration

Old 02-12-2011, 07:04 AM

Total Downloaded: 0
Upgrading the EDU-Craft 1:70 Crawler

I'm new to all this paper modeling stuff but I've been involved in model rocketry for a long while. One thing I've always wanted to do was build a good looking LUT for displaying my Saturn V and/or Saturn 1B models. I had built one as a project for LAUNCH Magazine a few years ago using resin parts that I cast and balsa. It didn't turn out too badly, but it still wasn't exactly what I wanted.

Recently I discovered paper modeling and the EDU-Craft LUT related models so I decided to take a stab at them and perhaps update the LUT section in the next revision of my rocketry book. I haven't actually started the build yet, but I have started prototyping some upgrades that I plan to include when I do the build.

The photo here is a test build of the structure for the walkways and a stairway on the crawler. The walkway will be covered with a fine mesh to provide the walking surface in the completed model. I prefer the actual steps to a ramp with the steps printed on them - but they are pretty challenging to assemble at this scale.

Mario
Attached Thumbnails
Upgrading the EDU-Craft 1:70 Crawler-walkway.jpg  
Old 02-12-2011, 11:00 AM

Total Downloaded: 97.13 MB
Beautiful, Mario!

This will be a heck of a project, and I look forward to following it.

Mike
Old 02-12-2011, 07:21 PM

Thanks. I spent the day laying out more updated parts and getting them ready to cut. With luck I'll have the time to start assembling the main structure by next weekend.

Mario
Old 02-15-2011, 05:51 PM

The first walkway segment is ready for paint.
Attached Thumbnails
Upgrading the EDU-Craft 1:70 Crawler-walkway-1.jpg  
Old 02-16-2011, 02:36 AM

Total Downloaded: 58.90 MB
Congratulations. Very nice ..
Google Adsense
Old 02-20-2011, 01:37 AM